Stop #2: In front of the fountain

“The wealthy society from San Francisco, California, comprised much of Lucky’s clientele at the Tallac Resort.  So how did they get here before roads and cars reached the south shore in the 1920s? Most boarded an evening train from San Francisco to Sacramento, and then transferred to another train that took them from Sacramento to Truckee.  Before 1900, guests rode a stagecoach from Truckee to Tahoe City, then called Tahoe Tavern.  In 1900, a narrow gauge railroad was constructed between the two cities.  From Tahoe City, the guests rode a steamer, perhaps Lucky’s own called The Tallac, to the resort.  As the steamers arrived, their bags were taken to their accommodations, whether here at Tallac or off to the other resorts, such as Glen Alpine, Fallen Leaf, or Angora Lake.  Guests were greeted by a club-house and over-water saloon at the end of the pier as well as by a circular, stone fountain, which you can still see the remains of here.  The steamers brought not only guests but also mail and supplies.  A two-day journey, the trip here was part of the resort experience.  From this point along the shore, rental boats and horse-back riding to the foot of Tallac were available.  Guests could also go sight-seeing in the hotel’s Pierce Arrow touring car.  We know that even sea-planes stopped here in later years, easily spotting the word “Tallac” in the shingles of the building on the pier.  In 1892, Lucky also had a six-inch water line installed from Fallen Leaf Lake to irrigate the lawn, supply water for the fountain, and power the electric generator.  Notice the rock path that leads away from the beach.  Lucky had these rocks painted white so they would glow in the electric lights which illuminated the resort.  Continue on reading the signs.  Stop 3 is on the promenade.”

Back to Stop #2 Audio